Council for Alumni Belonging logo

2024 Insight Into Diversity Alumni Association Inclusive Excellence Award logo


K-State Alumni Association receives Insight Into Diversity magazine’s 2024 Alumni Association Inclusive Excellence Award


The Council for Alumni Belonging is an advisory council within the K-State Alumni Association. This council serves as a diversity liaison in three areas: student, alumni, and university, with the goal of increasing engagement and participation with our diverse K-State community. The council is a pipeline for our diverse and multicultural alumni who want to get involved with the university.

The council is made up of 15 members, with one standing appointment from the Department of Student Belonging and Inclusion, and a student representative from the Student Government Association.

Current Members
Mako Miller '04 (Past Chair)
Edgar Ramirez '04 (Chair)
AbdulRasak Yahaya '08 (Chair Elect)
Mirta Chavez (Assistant Vice President for Student Belonging and Inclusion)
Ibrahim Ciftci (Student Representative from Student Governing Association)
Rana Johnson (Vice President of Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Belonging)